Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dr. Steven Mickley Community Health Resource Section of the Greenwich Hospital Medical Library: Online Health Resources

Community Health Resource Section servicing Greenwich Hospital patients, their families/caregivers, and the community at large.

Evaluating Online Health Information

Not sure whether or not to trust the health information you read online?

Visit our guide, Evaluating Online Health Information, for tips and tutorials to help you determine if you're reading a trustworthy source.

Or follow any of the links you find here for government organizations, medical societies or topic-specific organizations.

Note: Please remember that the information you find here is only for educational purposes. Always speak to your doctor about medical advice.

Medical Dictionaries

Medical Library Association

MedlinePlus

For Parents

For Kids

National Human Genome Research Institute

Jump to...


**Please note: Information found on these websites is for educational purposes only.
A
lways ask your doctor for any medical advice.**
 

General Health

  • Greenwich Hospital
     
  • MedlinePlus
    MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
     
  • FamilyDoctor.org
    Get easy-to-read, reliable information from the American Academy of Family Physician's consumer health website. It covers a wide variety of health topics, prevention and wellness issues, and advice for specific ages. They also offer a symptom checker and many resources, including a dictionary, overview of medications and devices, and healthcare management tips.
     
  • Healthfinder.gov
    A government website where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.
     
  • HealthyPeople.gov
    Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
     
  • The Surgeon General's Family Health History Initiative
    To help focus attention on the importance of family history, the Surgeon General, in cooperation with other agencies with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, has launched a national public health campaign, called the Surgeon General's Family History Initiative, to encourage all American families to learn more about their family health history.
     
  • What's Your Disease Risk?
    Your Disease Risk is an educational website of the Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University School of Medicine. The site was originally developed by the Harvard Center for Cancer Prevention and began as the Harvard Cancer Risk Index, a pen and paper cancer risk assessment tool first put together in the mid-1990s by the Risk Index Working Group at the Harvard School of Public Health. In 1999, the Risk Index was adapted to the Web as Your Cancer Risk. Then, to give even greater emphasis to the importance of healthy behaviors, Your Cancer Risk was expanded to include assessments for heart disease, stroke, diabetes, and osteoporosis. The expanded site was renamed Your Disease Risk.

[Top of page]

National Health Organizations

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
    As the nation’s health protection agency, the CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. To accomplish their mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise.
     
  • National Institutes of Health (NIH)
    The NIH, a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
     
  • Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP)
    ODPHP plays a vital role in keeping the nation healthy. We accomplish this by setting national health goals and objectives and supporting programs, services, and education activities that improve the health of all Americans.
     
  • Office of Minority Health
    The Office of Minority Health is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.
     
  • U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
    It is the mission of HHS to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans. We fulfill that mission by providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services.
     
    • Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
      HRSA, an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary federal agency for improving health and achieving health equity through access to quality services, a skilled health workforce and innovative programs.
       
  • U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
    A government site dedicated to veterans and their family. The site provides an abundance of information related to health, benefits, burials and memorials to name a few.

[Top of page]

Health Insurance

  • HealthCare.gov
    Find health insurance suited to your needs.
  • Medicaid.gov
    The Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services (CMCS) serves as the focal point for all the national program policies and operations for three important, state-based health coverage programs:
    • Medicaid provides health coverage to low-income people and is one of the largest payers for health care in the United States.
    • The Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) provides federal matching funds to states to provide health coverage to children in families with incomes too high to qualify for Medicaid, but who can't afford private coverage.
    • The Basic Health Program (BHP) allows states an option to provide affordable coverage and better continuity of care for people whose income fluctuates above and below Medicaid and CHIP eligibility levels.
       
  • Medicare.gov
    The official government website for Medicare.
     
  • Understanding Health Insurance
    Brought to you by the Kaiser Family Foundation, these resources are for anyone shopping (or helping someone shop) for health coverage within the health insurance marketplaces created through the Affordable Care Act (also known as the ACA or Obamacare).
     
  • HealthInsurance.org
    Get state-based information on individual health insurance.

*Click on the Connecticut Health Websites or New York Health Websites tab at the top of this page for resources specific to your home state.*

[Top of page]

Visiting the Doctor

  • Is Your Doctor Board Certified?
    The American Board of Medical Specialties physician certification database is the most widely respected and accepted resource for Board Certification information. It includes information on more than 840,000 physicians. The information is recognized by The Joint Commission, the National Committee for Quality Assurance, URAC, and other agencies as satisfying for Primary Source Verification as needed by professional organizations.
     
  • Getting the Most Out of Your Doctor Visit
    Be prepared for your next appointment. Follow this easy-to-read advice from the American Academy of Family Physicians.
     
  • What Did My Doctor Say?
    Get definitions of common medical terms you may have heard your doctor say.
     
  • Emergency Care, Urgent Care: What's the Difference?
    The American College of Emergency Physicians describes where you should seek treatment based on your situation. Always call 911 for a real medical emergency.
     
  • American College of Surgeons
    Find a surgeon, learn about different types of operations, and how to prepare for your procedure.
     
  • American Society of Anesthesiologists
    Read about surgery, anesthesia, pain management and how to stop smoking before surgery.
     
  • Understanding Your Medical Record
    With information dedicated to specific groups of patients, this website is brought to you by the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA), a national non-profit professional association, founded in 1928, dedicated to the effective management of personal health information needed to deliver quality healthcare to the public.
     
  • Lab Tests Online
    Produced by the American Association of Clinical Chemistry, Lab Tests Online has been designed to help you, as a patient or family caregiver, to better understand the many clinical laboratory tests that are part of healthcare today as well as the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases.

[Top of page]

Medical Research

[Top of page]

Genetics

  • Genetics Home Reference
    Genetics Home Reference is the National Library of Medicine's website for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes related to those conditions.
     
  • National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)
    NHGRI develops the resources and technologies needed to accelerate genome research, trains the next generation of genomic investigators, and disseminates genome information to the public and to health professionals.
     
  • Learn.Genetics
    The Genetic Science Learning Center at The University of Utah is a nationally and internationally-recognized education program that translates science and health for non-experts. In addition to genetics, we address all areas of life science and health as well as other scientific fields.

[Top of page]

Organ Donation and Transplantation

  • OrganDonor.gov
    From the Division of Transplantation (DoT), part of the Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration's Healthcare Systems Bureau. DoT is the primary federal entity responsible for oversight of the organ and blood stem cell transplant systems in the U.S. and for initiatives to increase the level of organ donation in this country.
     
  • Donate Life America
    Donate Life America is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit alliance of national organizations and state teams across the United States committed to increasing the number of donated organs, eyes and tissue available for transplant to save and heal lives while continuing to develop a culture where donation is embraced as a fundamental human responsibility.
     
  • Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients (SRTR)
    The SRTR is an ever-expanding national database of transplant statistics. The registry exists to support ongoing evaluation of the scientific and clinical status of solid organ transplantation, including kidney, heart, liver, lung, intestine, and pancreas.

[Top of page]

 

Dr. Steven Mickley Community Health Guides

Health Topics

Cancer

Life Stages & Special Populations

Hospice & Palliative Care

Advance Directives

Caregiving

Complementary and Alternative Medicine

[Top of page]

**Please note: Information found on these websites is for educational purposes only.
Always ask your doctor for any medical advice.**

General Information
FDA-Approved Drug Labels

Pill Identifier

Breastfeeding Interactions

Medication Safety

Drug Disposal

Supplements
Herbs

Let life bloom. Register as on organ, eye, and tissue donor.

**Please note: Information found on these websites is for educational purposes only. Always ask your doctor for any medical advice.**

Visit Our Library Homepage: http://libguides.greenhosp.org/c.php?g=983890